RSS Feed

Improvising…

Everyone who knows me knows I love chocolate. I always like to say that if chocolate were a man, I’d marry it and have lots of babies with it.

Tonight’s chocolate craving came in the form of s’mores. Only problem is, I don’t keep graham crackers on hand very often, so when the occasional s’mores hankering hits, I have to improvise. I came up with this particular workaround a while back, when I was so desperate for something–ANYTHING–remotely like a s’more that I was willing to overlook the fact that I wasn’t eating a graham cracker. It’s not the same, I confess, but I have to admit, it’s better than keeping graham crackers in the pantry and having them go to waste because I don’t use them that often.

I call this, my s’mores toast.

Dark chocolate s'mores toast

Dark chocolate s'mores toast

There’s really not much to it: I take a slice of whole wheat bread (whole wheat, because it’s the kind of bread I eat) and spread some Nutella on it (because Nutella is a staple in my home :)), then break a small square of dark chocolate on top–90% cocoa, because I love me some dark chocolate–and then top with some mini marshmallows. I then toast this at a medium darkness setting and voila, wannabe s’mores :).

I won’t pretend this is health food, but hey, you gotta admit, I did make s’mores a little bit less bad for you by using dark chocolate (hello, antioxidants!) and whole wheat bread. Yeah, ok, so there’s sugar in the Nutella, and, well… marshmallows don’t exactly fall into any known food group, but you have to have your treats every once in a while.

And I did only have one slice. See? Portion control.

About writejenwrite

Silicon Valley marketer by day, novelist-in-training by night--running addict, foodie, bookworm, pop culture enthusiast, and aspiring philanthropist in between.

4 responses »

  1. Well, when you come out of blog hibernation you don’t mess around – looks so good!

    Reply
  2. I need to keep marshmallows in my pantry! Graham crackers are a staple and we usually have chocolate somewhere in the house. Looks delish!

    Reply
  3. Jen, is this set up so I can get it via RSS feed? I don’t see that anywhere. Amy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

