RSS Feed

Lunching at home

I’m very fortunate to work for a company that allows me to work from home every Friday. And one of my very favorite things about working from home is that I get to make my lunch from scratch and eat it fresh out of the oven or off the stove (or freshly assembled, if I happened to make a salad or a sandwich :)).

Today’s menu featured a lot of veggies, because I love veggies. I try to eat 2-3 veggies with every meal if I can. I find it’s a great way to make a meal feel substantial without bumping up the portion size of the things that you probably want to be more reasonable with in terms of portions (indulgences are good–even necessary, I would argue :)–but by definition, indulgences can lead to… well, overindulging :)).

My lunch for today:

  • Kale chips (I could seriously eat these for every meal)
  • Roasted broccoli
  • Roasted asparagus
  • Fontina, pancetta, and fig jam panini (more on this particular fig jam in a bit–YUM)
A homemade lunch

A homemade lunch... Veggies, anyone?

 

So speaking of this fig jam… Being that I am a Trader Joe’s fanatic, it’s not uncommon that I will discover a new food item each time I go shopping there (which is about 1-2x a week–told ya I’m a fanatic). Last week’s new discovery was this AH-mazing fig butter that I couldn’t wait to start using.

Trader Joe's fig butter

Trader Joe's fig butter... more, please!

 

I watch Extra Virgin on the Cooking Channel obsessively, and one of the recipes they featured was a taleggio, fig jam, and prosciuto panini. Now, I usually don’t like having anything remotely fruity in a savory dish, but I really love most of the recipes they have on the show, and so I figured I’d at least give it a shot before I wrote it off.

I didn’t have taleggio cheese handy, but I did have fontina, and armed with my Trader Joe’s fig butter, I set about to recreate this panini. I. Fell. In. Love. Seriously, all kinds of yummy. I decided I needed to make this again, and soon. So I resolved to make it for lunch today, only I decided to tweak it a little and make it with pancetta instead of prosciuto, since I also wanted to try this delectable-looking gem.

Well, the fig butter is now going to be a staple in my fridge. And I will be looking for more ways to incorporate it–I’m already thinking about making some ravioli cookies (so dubbed by my friend, Emma, because they are soft shortbread cookies stuffed like a ravioli) with this divine fig butter in them.

Who knows, you may be seeing a post on that really soon…

About writejenwrite

Silicon Valley marketer by day, novelist-in-training by night--running addict, foodie, bookworm, pop culture enthusiast, and aspiring philanthropist in between.

Leave a Reply

