RSS Feed

Stacked

Every one in a while, I get a hankering to have breakfast for dinner. Actually, it’s more specific than that: I get a hankering to have pancakes for dinner. My go-to pancakes are usually my chocolate chip pumpkin pancakes (yes, I am one of those people who hoards canned pumpkin during Thanksgiving time, so I can have cans of it all year round and can make my pumpkin pancakes every Sunday–or whenever the craving strikes).

Tonight, though, I was craving a different kind of pancake: blueberry ricotta. Mmm. I happened to have ricotta in the fridge, as well as some ultra-sweet blueberries, so it seemed like the perfect thing to have on a Saturday evening.

Come along with me on a journey to make these, won’t you?

Pancakes ingredients

Our journey begins...

First thing you’ll notice when you read this recipe is that I’m using healthier ingredients. I’ve mentioned before that I like to keep things on the healthy side; it’s how I get to still eat my favorite foods, while making sure I’m getting good nutrition too. Feel free to substitute anything here with the “traditional” ingredient, but I assure you, it’s just as good the healthy way too :).

Whole Wheat Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes (adapted from Devin Alexander’s recipe; makes a single serving of 3-4 pancakes)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour (I usually use oat flour–which you can easily make by grinding old-fashioned oats in your food processor–but today I felt like a heartier pancake, so I used whole wheat)
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk (you can substitute other forms of milk, but I highly recommend using buttermilk; it makes the pancakes soft, tender, and FLUFFY. If you’re vegan, try adding 1 tsp of lemon juice to your favorite milk substitute and wait a few minutes until the milk thickens and begins to turn sour)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seed (optional)
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup ricotta (feel free to use whole milk ricotta or part-skim; I like to use tat-free)

Directions:

Sift the dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, flax seed) together. Add the buttermilk, vanilla, egg white, and ricotta. Stir with a spatula until incorporated, but be gentle; as with all batter, overmixing will produce a tough batter. No more fluffy pancakes, boo! Fold in the blueberries.

Heat a nonstick pan or a griddle over medium heat. Spray with a bit of canola oil (or melt a tsp of butter or coconut oil). Start ladling your batter :). Once you start to see bubbles forming on the surface, it’s time to flip your pancakes.

Pancakes cooking

Tiny bubbles...

Cook on the other side, then serve onto a platter. Top with your favorite toppings :). My personal favorites? Peanut butter (yes, you read that right: peanut butter), maple syrup (the REAL thing, people, not the scary corn syrup that’s been given caramel coloring to look like maple syrup), and (yes, you guessed it) more cinnamon. Oh and I top it with strawberries, too, because I love me some berries, and the blueberries need some company :).

Pancakes

Fresh off the griddle...

Mmm… I’m still rubbing my very satisfied tummy :).

Oh and I should mention that this pancake recipe is super versatile. I use it as the base for other pancake variations, including my beloved chocolate chip pumpkin (which, as I mentioned, I have practically every Sunday, provided I’m not traveling). Here’s how to tweak the above recipe to make this yummy variety:

  • Substitute 1/2 cup canned pumpkin for the 1/4 cup ricotta
  • Substitute 1 tbsp mini chocolate chips for the 1/2 cup blueberries (I still eat the blueberries, though; I just use them as a topping for the pancakes, rather than adding them to the batter)
  • Substitute 1/4 cup oat flour for the 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or you can still use the whole wheat pastry flour, if you’d like)
  • Add 1/8 tsp pumpkin spice

Enjoy!

About writejenwrite

Silicon Valley marketer by day, novelist-in-training by night--running addict, foodie, bookworm, pop culture enthusiast, and aspiring philanthropist in between.

Leave a Reply

