RSS Feed

Soup’s on

They say a mark of a true cook is when he/she invents a dish. Well, I think I’ve finally arrived then :).

Ok, so this soup recipe isn’t exactly an invention from scratch–it was heavily inspired/influenced by other soups I’ve had over the years, but this was one of the first times (if not the first) where I attempted something new without following any recipe at all. I just winged it.

And you know what? The result was pretty darn good, if I say so myself. So of course, I’m sharing it :). You’ll have to forgive the quality of the picture, though; I’m still a novice when it comes to food styling/food photography, and I just didn’t have the patience, nor the willingness to set up the shot for this one. However, I needed some sort of visual to give you an idea of what it looks like, so I think this will serve its purpose :).

Jen’s Chicken, Brown Rice, & Zucchini Soup (serves 5-6)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 2 medium carrots, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 cups low sodium chicken stock
  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken (your choice to do white or dark meat; I used white meat today, but I actually prefer dark meat most of the time, so I’ll probably use that the next time I make this)
  • 2 medium zucchini, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1 cup kale, chopped
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat the oil in a dutch oven over medium heat. Add the garlic and onions and sprinkle with salt. Add the celery and carrots and sprinkle more salt, sautéing for 2-3 minutes until the vegetables are tender. Add the zucchini and (yes, you guessed it :)) sprinkle some salt. Sauté for 3-4 minutes to soften the zucchini, then add the chicken stock. Add the chicken, kale, and brown rice, then bring to a boil. Once it comes to a boil, lower the heat and simmer until the chicken is cooked (about 20-25 minutes).

Taste the broth to see how the seasoning is, then add salt and pepper to taste.

Your kitchen will smell AH-mazing while this is cooking away on the stove. Yum. So easy, so good!

Chicken, Brown Rice, & Zucchini Soup
Mmm, mmm good… My Le Creuset comes through again!
About writejenwrite

Silicon Valley marketer by day, novelist-in-training by night--running addict, foodie, bookworm, pop culture enthusiast, and aspiring philanthropist in between.

One response »

  1. Got to love the Le Creuset!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

