RSS Feed

The great avocado debate

When I came to this country at the age of 9 and saw guacamole for the first time, I must admit, I was puzzled. Maybe even a bit grossed out. You see, I had grown up eating avocado sweet–yes, sweet–and the thought of eating it in a savory dish was just unfathomable to me.

It took me years to even try guacamole, and even longer to like it. Now I LOVE the stuff, but to this day, my favorite way to eat it is still the way I grew up eating it: in a milkshake. Technically, it’s more like a pudding (you eat it with a spoon, not a straw), but for some reason, Filipinos call it an “avocado shake,” so that’s what I called it growing up, too.

I know, I know–unless you grew up in the Philippines (or elsewhere in Southeast Asia), you probably just made a face when you read that. And I get it. That was pretty much the same reaction I had when I first saw guacamole (“Wrong!! That’s the wrong way to eat it!”). But I promise you, if you just give it a chance, you’ll discover it’s one of the most wonderful things you’ve ever tasted.

Avocado

The incredible, versatile fruit

Avocado Pudding (also known as “Filipino Avocado Shake”; makes 1 serving)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 an avocado (simply scoop out the flesh)
  • 1 tsp sugar, or to taste (start with a tsp and gradually add a tsp at a time, if it’s still not sweet enough to your liking)

Directions:

Throw everything into a blender. Blend. Pour into a bowl and eat with a spoon :).

If you prefer more of a smoothie or a shake (as its original name implies), decrease the amount of avocado to 1/4 of an avocado and pour into a glass instead of a bowl. Easy peasy!

Avocado shake

Try it. You know you wanna.

About writejenwrite

Silicon Valley marketer by day, novelist-in-training by night--running addict, foodie, bookworm, pop culture enthusiast, and aspiring philanthropist in between.

Leave a Reply

