RSS Feed

Going Bananas

The people in my life would probably be shocked to hear this, but… I’m not a big banana fan. I mean, don’t get me wrong–I do eat them, but I’m very, very picky about how I’ll eat them: they need to be just slightly under-ripe, before they get sickly sweet, which really only gives you a very narrow window of time to eat them.

Why is this so surprising? Because I’ve somehow become known for the banana bread I make. I get requests for it quite often, and it’s served me well indeed: it’s my go-to fundraising tactic whenever I fundraise for Team In Training (my banana bread sales have been known to bring in about 1/3 of my fundraising :)). I’ll share the recipe for it in a future blog post, but today, I’ll instead share a new recipe I tried for the first time this afternoon: banana cupcakes with maple peanut butter frosting.

I haven’t actually taste tested these yet, but I’m hoping they taste as good as they sound, because I’ll be taking them into work tomorrow. My boss has told me that banana cupcakes are his favorite, so I have a high bar to meet ;).

Banana cupcakes

Do I have a winner on my hands? I shall find out tomorrow, after they make their debut...

Banana Cupcakes with Maple Peanut Butter Frosting (adapted from Martha Stewart’s recipe; makes 12 cupcakes)

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes:

  • 1 1/2 cup unbleached cake flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (plus more for garnish)
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
  • 4 ripe bananas (frozen, and then defrosted and mashed)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

For the frosting:

  • 8 oz (1 package) cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Pre-heat oven at 350 degrees. Line a muffin pan with paper liners.

Combine dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon) in a bowl and whisk until incorporated.

In a separate bowl, whisk the sugar, butter, eggs, and vanilla. Add the bananas. Add the flour, 1/3 of the mixture at a time, and mix until just incorporated (as usual, be careful not to overmix, or you’ll end up with rock-hard cupcakes!). Pour into the pan and bake for 20-25 minutes. Check it at 20 minutes, using the toothpick test–mine were done early, so I took them out of the oven at the 20 minute mark.

Cool on a wire rack.

In the meantime, prepare the frosting. Put all of the ingredients into a stand mixer and using a wire whisk attachment, beat until very fluffy. Refrigerate for an hour or so, then when the cupcakes are completely cool, spread the frosting or, if you’re skilled with a pastry bag (I, unfortunately, am not), pipe the frosting onto the cupcakes.

Sprinkle with cinnamon for garnish.

Other things you might want to try: add walnuts and/or chocolate chips (I love, love, LOVE the addition of chocolate chips in banana bread, so I bet they’d be great in cupcakes, too; and I love nuts in my baked goods, so I like to add them if I know it won’t offend my eaters ;)).

Maple peanut butter frosting

Maple peanut butter frosting... I'm not a frosting fan, but I have to admit, this was pretty yummy 🙂

About writejenwrite

Silicon Valley marketer by day, novelist-in-training by night--running addict, foodie, bookworm, pop culture enthusiast, and aspiring philanthropist in between.

One response »

  1. I only eat bananas when they are under ripe as well. These sound great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

