RSS Feed

(Coco)nuts over coconut oil

I’m baaack!!

Sorry for the brief hiatus, folks–Darth Real Life has kept me busy of late, but of course, this does not keep me from thinking/talking about food, so of course,the first chance I get to share my ramblings? I’ll take it, naturally!

So as you might have surmised from this blog post title, I have a new obsession. And my friends, I can’t recommend it enough. Two words:

Coconut Oil.

Coconut oil

Try it--you won't regret it!

I guess I should start by saying that I was reluctant to try it for a long time. For years, I’ve been reading about the benefits of it–high in antioxidants, possibly the best of the “healthy” fats, all kinds of healing properties, etc. Given my healthy eating bent, I knew I had to incorporate it into my eating somehow, but… well, I didn’t want to. Because, you see… coconut oil has a, shall we say, distinct smell, and I just couldn’t seem to get past that. It doesn’t smell bad by any means (on the contrary, it reminds me of macaroons, yum!), but the scent is pretty strong, and I figured the taste would be pretty pronounced too, which meant it would add a funky flavor to things I normally cook with oil: eggs, veggies, meats… I mean, really–the idea of eating coconut-flavored eggs over easy just didn’t sound all that appealing to me. Call me crazy.

So when I finally decided to buy a jar of it, I couldn’t even bring myself to use it in my cooking (unless it was in baking, where I felt its natural sweetness lent itself well). Instead, I used it on my face and in my hair (side note: my skin hasn’t looked this good since I was a little girl) and thought I would just get my use out of it this way.

Then I read all about expeller-pressed (also known as “refined”) coconut oil and how it had none of the coconut smell and taste, and I thought, hmm… maybe I’ll give this one a try and if it’s still not what I can tolerate, I’ll just give up on the idea of coconut oil in my foods.

Well, what do you know, it’s true! Expeller-pressed coconut oil is indeed very neutral smelling and tasting, and now it’s the oil I use exclusively in cooking. I even gave it my “ultimate” taste test: using it to cook eggs. It passed with flying colors.

So as a bonus gift for being MIA for so long, I will share my favorite omelette recipe, which I now cook with coconut oil. Give it a try when you get a chance!

Jen’s Greek Omelette (makes 1 serving)

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 3 egg whites
  • 2 cups baby spinach, chopped
  • 1 cup mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 1 oz. feta (if possible, buy the one that comes in a block, not the crumbled kind–the latter just isn’t the same in terms of flavor or texture)
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven at 400 degrees.

In the meantime, heat the coconut oil in a cast-iron skillet over medium heat on the stove (I like cast-iron best because it’s nonstick when seasoned, and is all natural, so you don’t have to worry about any weirdo chemicals to make it nonstick). Start sautéing the onions, mushrooms, and spinach. Sprinkle with salt to soften the veggies.

While the veggies are cooking, whisk the egg and egg whites and season with salt and pepper. Crumble the feta and add to the egg mixture. Once the veggies are cooked, add to the egg mixture, then add the entire thing back into the skillet. Cook for about 5-7 minutes, until the edges begin to pull away from the pan, then put in the oven to finish cooking (about 7-8 minutes).

To serve, cover the pan with a plate and flip over to plate the omelette. And voila, you’re ready to eat :). (Promise there’s no coconut taste!)

Greek omelette

No coconut-y eggs for me!

About writejenwrite

Silicon Valley marketer by day, novelist-in-training by night--running addict, foodie, bookworm, pop culture enthusiast, and aspiring philanthropist in between.

4 responses »

  1. I am loving the fragrant coconut oil in curries any soups with curry powder–yum!

    Reply
    • Ooh yes, it does work well in curry :). It also works REALLY well in baked goods. I love the hint of coconut in cakes, muffins. There’s a coconut cupcake recipe I saw that I bet would be really yummy with coconut oil.

      Reply
  2. That looks extremely good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

